recentpopularlog in

bad_reviews

No One Wants It | Affidavit
"Over and over, Soloway worries if she has made a wrong turn, before plowing ahead regardless. Over and over, she anxiously seeks the counsel of others, only to blithely ignore it. She has regrets, but never remorse: the problem is not that she has made a poor decision, but that someone else has gotten offended."
bad_reviews  book_commentary 
5 days ago by jbushnell
Loomings | The Comics Journal
Tegan O'Neil: "Summing up fifty years of comics written and drawn by dozens of talented men and women is a great way of making all those comics seem really banal. Namor hardly needs the help in this department since his solo adventures often strive mightily just to achieve banality in the first place. Seen over the course of the Thomases’ narrative the Sub-Mariner is a guy who keeps getting kicked out of Atlantis despite being prince because he literally picks fights with everyone everywhere. He’s useless for palace intrigue or royal politics because his first instinct when faced with a dilemma is always to punch someone."
comics_commentary  bad_reviews 
6 weeks ago by jbushnell
They made that one videogame again but this time it’s called Spider-Man
"When an highly anticipated event game like Spider-Man drops day one reviews and initial reception fawns over the small details, we gush about the swinging because it’s exciting for the first few hours, we appreciate the small quality of life changes and subtle differences from other similar games. We’ve had a decade of these time killing open world games, and it’s been so long our press and our taste has internalised that this is just how games are now. So instead of considering what this game could of been or perhaps should of been, we judge it within the limited scope and structure that we’ve been beaten into accepting."
game_commentary  game_design  bad_reviews 
7 weeks ago by jbushnell
‎‘Gotti’ review by bybowes • Letterboxd
"This is, I apologize, a deeply buried lede, but GOTTI is one of the funniest goddamn movies of the decade."
bad_reviews 
july 2018 by jbushnell
Review in progress: Exit Stage Left — The Snagglepuss Chronicles
This is a nice example of how to do very careful longform comics criticism
comics_commentary  bad_reviews 
february 2018 by jbushnell
The Mythical Whiteness of Trump Country | Boston Review
"When protesters at Middlebury College, for instance, prevented the conservative intellectual and white supremacist Charles Murray from speaking on campus, columnist Louis Shucker wrote in the Reading Eagle that, 'Perhaps a better selection would have been J. D. Vance, author of the bestselling Hillbilly Elegy.' The implication is that while the two share similar beliefs about poverty and race, Vance is baggage-free in a way that Murray is not. Let us give him some baggage, then."
race  politics  bad_reviews  america 
november 2017 by jbushnell
Ready Player One Finds The Bleak Limits Of Nostalgia
Jeb Lund: "At times, you can almost sense a muffled scream trying to escape the page, the unthinkable recognition that memorizing movies and videogame speed-runs and every beat of a standup routine contains only the memory space required to store it—that it builds to nothing, achieves nothing, signifies nothing more than the story of somebody else. "
bad_reviews 
september 2017 by jbushnell
From the Archive - Op-Classic, 1993 - O'Brien Flops! - NYTimes.com
Conan O'Brien wrote a fake review of his own debut: "The last 20 minutes of the program consisted of Mr. O'Brien performing a strange, snake-like dance in front of his desk as audience members filed out in disgust. "
bad_reviews  humor 
june 2015 by jbushnell
The Village :: rogerebert.com :: Reviews
"[W]hen we do discover the secret, we want to rewind the film so we don't know the secret anymore. And then keep on rewinding, and rewinding, until we're back at the beginning, and can get up from our seats and walk backward out of the theater and go down the up escalator and watch the money spring from the cash register into our pockets."
bad_reviews 
april 2013 by jbushnell
I Went to the Playboy Mansion (and It Was Kinda Depressing) | VICE
"I took this picture in another bathroom. It looks like something that would accompany a 1-star TripAdvisor review of a Polish ski resort."
snark  bad_reviews 
february 2013 by jbushnell
Los Angeles Review of Books - Anarchish: On James C. Scott’s “Two Cheers For Anarchism”
"Two Cheers isn't about anarchy or even anarchism so much as an anarchist-type attitude: it's not anarchist but anarchish. This is anarchism, in other words, in the mold of reform Judaism: show up for some holidays (marches) and try to live a good anarchist life, and you can feel comfortable with the expectation that if the messiah does ever happen to arrive, you'd find yourself on the right side of divine judgment. If you're unable to tell the difference between your behavior and that of your more genteel gentile neighbors, name them honorary anarchists. But don't hold your breath, or rearrange your life, waiting for a prophet you don't really expect to show."
anarchy  bad_reviews  politics  authority  law  crime 
february 2013 by jbushnell
Paris Review – We Have a … Winner? (NSFW-ish), Sadie Stein
Winner of the 2012 Bad Sex in Fiction Award. I dare not cut and paste it here.
bad_reviews  snark  sexuality 
december 2012 by jbushnell
A Critic’s Case for Critics Who Are Actually Critical - NYTimes.com
I did not know that Richard Ford had once spat upon Colson Whitehead!
criticism  bad_reviews 
august 2012 by jbushnell
Asking the Wrong Questions: The Dark Knight Rises
Abigail Nussbaum takes down "The Dark Knight Rises" with great vigor
media_commentary  bad_reviews 
august 2012 by jbushnell
Landfill-Ready Case File #13: E.T.: The Extra-Terrestrial (Atari 2600)  | Games | My World Of Flops | The A.V. Club
Nathan Rabin trashes one of the most-trashed games of all time: "The E.T. videogame performs a tricky reverse alchemy, transforming one of the most beloved characters in the history of pop-culture into a terrible, eminently forgettable videogame protagonist, and the most successful motion picture of its era into the single greatest videogame disaster of all time. "
game_commentary  bad_reviews 
april 2012 by jbushnell
Low Times » Tom Meets Lulu Part Ten: “Junior Dad”
Something of a grudging appreciation for the horrific LULU: "[F]lopping in front of the world is okay! Maybe as I get older I’m finally realizing that in the big picture there’s really nothing wrong with looking stupid, and if you’re trying your best there’s absolutely nothing wrong with failing. It’s good for you; you develop an appreciation for the times when things go well and you learn things about yourself and your talents that you can’t get from succeeding. For the last couple months I have been having full discussions with more than one puppet on the radio. Let that sink in – I am TALKING TO PUPPETS ON THE RADIO. So I know what it’s like to feel stupid in front of a lot of people. Besides, most of the things we truly love came from people betting on themselves, fully prepared to fail in front of the world! The truly great creations are hardly ever made by committee – even slick world-pleasing stuff like ABBA ultimately boils down to two Swedish weirdos in a cabin writing songs about how their marriages are failing. So, I’ll always be willing to spot some capital to the dummies that bet on themselves, especially when they’ve got a track record like the five dudes who made this record."
bad_reviews  creative_process  advice 
march 2012 by jbushnell

Copy this bookmark:





to read