recentpopularlog in

jerryking : alternative_realities   3

No, the CBC’s not cool. Nor should it be
Apr. 21 2014 | The Globe and Mail | KONRAD YAKABUSKI.

It would all be easier if the broadcaster’s leaders, past and present, weren’t still stuck in some alternate reality, deluded by visions of grandeur and budget envy. They think that, if only Canadians funded their public network the way the British and French fund theirs, the CBC could be all things to all people and ne’er a disparaging word would be heard. In other words, it’s not their fault; it’s ours.
alternative_realities  CBC_Radio  CBC_TV  Konrad_Yakabuski 
april 2014 by jerryking
Science Fiction, the Only Literature of Ideas Today
January 24, 2008 | - The Informed Reader - WSJ | by Robin Moroney.

Science fiction has become the last bastion for the literature of ideas, says journalist Clive Thompson in Wired......By questioning society’s basic rules and speculating on how other worlds might work, on the other hand, science fiction can raise fresher, more provocative questions. The authors’ alternative realities serve as thought experiments in the tradition of Socrates, Thomas Hobbes and Simone de Beauvoir. In Cory Doctorow’s “After the Siege,” rich countries try to violently stop poor ones from using a technology that can duplicate objects, posing fundamental questions about international law, justice and property. Philip Pullman’s “His Dark Materials” trilogy examines the foundations of religious authority.

Given the philosophical potential of science fiction, it is no wonder that the genre recently has lured away such high-profile literary writers as Philip Roth (“The Plot Against America”) and Cormac McCarthy (“The Road”) from the realistic, contemporary plots for which they are better known.
science_fiction  literature  fiction  books  ideas  alternative_realities  thought_experiments  questions  Socrates  writers 
january 2010 by jerryking

Copy this bookmark:





to read