recentpopularlog in

kme : review   114

« earlier  
Ashton Kutcher in a Biopic About Steve Jobs - The New York Times
A film review on Friday about “Jobs,” a biography of Steve Jobs that the review said has “all the sex appeal of a PowerPoint presentation,” referred imprecisely to PowerPoint. It was created by Forethought as Presenter and later renamed PowerPoint, and was acquired by Microsoft in 1987. It was not originally developed by Microsoft.
stevejobs  apple  film  review  powerpoint  sexappeal  microsoft 
11 weeks ago by kme
Drop Zone movie review & film summary (1994) | Roger Ebert
Logic, that tiresome specter at the feast of fantasy, here raises its skeletal hand and asks a few questions, like (1) Why does the computer whiz need to be in the building to crack the computers? Hasn't he ever heard of a modem? And (2) wouldn't people in central Washington be likely to notice skydivers parachuting into a semi driving down a major street? "Drop Zone" shrugs off those and all other questions as it hurtles to a conclusion.
90s  action  film  review 
12 weeks ago by kme
Siskel & Ebert - "The Terminator" - YouTube
Byron Easley
4 years ago
Everyone is missing the point of this review. Siskel sneaks outside food and beverages in.

For shame Siskel. For shame.
film  review  video  forthecomments 
october 2019 by kme
Tom Waits: Mule Variations Album Review | Pitchfork
The album- closing bittersweet mid- tempo rocker tradition has never seen a better entry than "Come On Up to the House," and the strange, out- of- phase falsetto backing vocals on "Black Market Baby" are alone worth the price of admission.
music  album  review  tomwaits 
october 2019 by kme
3 from Hell movie review & film summary (2019) | Roger Ebert
Biggest use of 'Tremendous' you've ever seen, tremendous, tremendous tremendousness. People are saying yuge, yuge use of tremendous, trust me, bigly.

Oh boy! So they kidnapped the warden's wife. does she get raped? If she gets raped, how many times does she get raped? She has to at least get stripped naked. Oh boy, stripped at least! If she doesn't get raped, who does? Someone has to get raped, this IS a Rob Zombie movie! Raped and then like, stabbed 50 times or maybe run over by a truck! Oh boy this is going to be awesome! HARDCOOOOREE!
film  review  horror  schlock  forthecomments 
september 2019 by kme
Us - Vern's Reviews on the Films of Cinema Vern's Reviews on the Films of Cinema
Great observations all around. Nyong’o is getting all the buzz, but props to Winston Duke, who excels at playing both lovable goof and menacing as hell. That twisted up scowl his tethered sports is like early Ice Cube walking into a poorly maintained truckstop restroom. That’s a compliment.
film  horror  review  forthecomments 
june 2019 by kme
MacBook Air (2018) review: Testing the 1.6GHz dual-core Core i5 laptop | Macworld
One of the things we loved about the MacBook Air was the MagSafe charging connector. USB-C charging is convenient in a “you only need one cord” sort of way, but there is almost no old-school Mac laptop user that doesn’t have a dozen stories about how the magnetic breakaway charger saved it from certain doom when someone tripped over the power cord.
macbook  air  review  apple  mac  hardware  explained 
march 2019 by kme
The New MacBook Air Has a Looming Reliability Issue
The MacBook Air is held in high regard for being a well-built laptop that lasts forever. And since the Air has lasted so long, many users (including most of my relatives) have held onto their older models. These systems still work, but they’re finally starting to show their age, leaving their owners looking for a new laptop.
macbook  air  mac  hardware  keyboard  review  explained 
march 2019 by kme
1942 WW2 US Army Field Ration C B Unit MRE Taste Test Vintage Meal Ready to Eat Oldest Food Review - YouTube | https://www.youtube.com/
Bye, bye Mister MRE Guy, Liquid candy in the Can B, but the coffee was dry. Just a good ol' boy, eatin' biscuits with rye, Singin' this'll be the day that I die This'll be the day that I die...

That can has seen shit none of us would have imagined

my grandpa's biscuits are 75 years old too.

Steve, I’m probably not breaking any new ground here, and I apologize if I’m repeating something, but I just watched your review of a ration that included a cubed off sleeve of Chesterfield cigarettes. They were all perfectly square, tucked into the cube they came in. I was so hoping you would try the cigarette but I felt like you wouldn’t. But then you DID! So awesome! Dude! You’re awesome! You even did the nose inhale like a true smoker. Anyway, and back to the point, I worked with a black dude on a hospital grounds keeping crew back in the early eighties who was a Navy guy and when he would run out of cigarettes he would say, “Can I bum a square?” Didn’t know what the hell he was talking about at first as I was only 17 at the time, but then finally, the vernacular around the hospital among us that would smoke when we were out of cigarettes was “Can I bum a square?” Surely the origin of that expression was from the cigarettes that came cubed and stacked one atop the other. You can’t miss an opportunity to define language like this to pass on to our children about its origins. I hope everyone quits smoking. But...surely I’m right on this one about the origins of “bum a square”.
crations  review  video  forthecomments 
february 2019 by kme
‘Twin Peaks’ Season 3, Episode 16: Doppelgängers and Dancers - The New York Times | https://www.nytimes.com/
That said, I can’t pretend it wasn’t incredibly satisfying to see Mr. MacLachlan this week as the real Cooper, snapping out of a coma in the hospital and proclaiming “I am the F.B.I.!” as the “Twin Peaks” theme song swelled. With two episodes left, mysteries galore are still left to be solved. Finally, Coop is back on the case.
twinpeaks  thereturn  review 
october 2017 by kme
Amazon.com : JL421 Badonkadonk Land Cruiser/Tank : Motor Vehicles : Everything Else
Question:
Can it bulls-eye a 2-meter womprat? I used to do that all the time in my T-16 back home.

Answer:
Unfortunately, laser turrets are not included in the retail price, are considered aftermarket additions, and vary widely in accuracy modules (imperial buyers typically opt-out altogether). Furthermore, should you decide to purchase the turret add-on, we strongly recommend adding the keyed safety lockout (#KSL-1) to prevent unauthorized personnel from operating it.
review  productreview  humor  forthecomments 
september 2016 by kme
Radio preview: from FIP to Love, War And Trains | Television & radio | The Guardian - http://www.theguardian.com/
It's all pleasingly mellow, and guaranteed to be free of that edginess that can make British music radio wearing. After every few songs there's a voice you want to marry whispering words you can't understand. This means you are free to place the very best construction on what they might be saying. Not even the fact that they play the Doors almost every hour can lower my scene. It's just the sort of thing you expect the French to do. You don't even think of them as broadcasting from a studio; I prefer to imagine my Saturday radio sweetheart presenting her show from a beach hut on stilts like that one in Betty Blue, and talking only occasionally because she's keeping an eye on the bouillabaisse. If she isn't, I don't wish to know.
internetradio  recommendations  review 
january 2016 by kme
Mad Max: Fury Road is the future of pulp | The Verge
What’s really fascinating is how casually Fury Road throws this in, and how willingly it abandons some of pulp’s most pervasive gender tropes. The film’s entire plot is about five beautiful young women escaping sexual servitude, but it’s a film during which sexual peril virtually never comes up — and when it does, it’s instantly subverted. Female characters are shot, stabbed, and run over just like male ones, but they’re never singled out by leering villains or treated like prizes. And while women might be property under Immortan Joe’s patriarchy, men are disposable, and just as tightly controlled.
film  review 
may 2015 by kme
“Jupiter Ascending”: Channing Tatum in Spock ears fights lizard men, but not for laughs - Salon.com - http://www.salon.com/
It has the kind of jumbled, pseudo-spectacular, overdecorated digital design that the eye and mind can’t really take in. Individual shots can be gorgeous, but there are just too damn many of them, and the overall experience is the visual equivalent of eating an entire wedding cake.
film  scifi  review 
february 2015 by kme
Simplenote: Still The Best Note Taking App – MacStories
I miss the old (pre iOS7 godawfulness) version of the app.
simplenote  design  review 
june 2014 by kme
« earlier      
per page:    204080120160

Copy this bookmark:





to read